Ice Fish Ohio Forum

Spud Bar

Green Pea

• View Profile
The one piece of equipment I should probably own is a spud bar. Just wondering,.... Lowes, Home Depot and others have standard spud bars. Do many of you buy a basic bar or are the ones from Frabil, Clam and other ice bar makers worth the extra $

wballard77

• PRO STAFF
  • Wes Ballard
    • View Profile
A lot of people use a simple spud bar. I prefer an ice chisel, I use the (One-Piece Eskimo Redneck Chisel) its 1/2 the weight of the hardware store style and can also cut holes but the number one reason is the strap on the handle.
Ice Fish Ohio Pro Staff

bucknuts

• View Profile
I'm fairly new to ice fishing also. I use two 6'pieces of 1/2" regard taped together with duct tape. A lot lighter and cheaper.

E
Know our history or we are bound to repeat it!

holehopper

• Thy seas are so great,and my boat is so small.
    • View Profile
yeah but if it's to light your missing the whole point of the safety factor,they are weighted for good reason.
I love sports,especially one I can do sitting down!                                                                          Freshwater Drum-Life Member                                                                      Trigger-X

Fishingoat

• View Profile
Never leave home without it.  Doesn't take anything to carry and you never know when good ice will shift or crack.  The ones specific for Ice are perfect.  The hardware stores are a bit too heavy although I do agree with hole hopper that some weight is needed or it is pointless.  Do yourself a favor and get one.  It will also help if you start to fall thru.  You can turn it sideways for a brace.  Hope you never have to though. 
Born to fish.   No plan B.

bucknuts

• View Profile