Ice Fish Ohio Forum

need help

catfishdude84

• View Profile
ok so im new to the world of ice fishing and i would like to get some professional oppinions on what gear i need to get. i dont have a lot of money to spend, but im willing to spend a little more than i normally would. need help with the hole shibang, baits and lures, what auger to get, and just everything lol. thanks for any help provided.

crv423

• Global Moderator
  • Catching is only half the fun!
    • View Profile
u can pick up an auger at gander mtn. for around 50, they should have a couple of combos there, if not check ur local bait stores, they should be around 30 a comdo, i would go with a medium action its an all around action, string it with 4lb test. for eyes i would pick up a few small vibes silver/blue, orange/gold, and fire tiger seem to be the best, for panfish pick up a hand ful of teardrop jigs in diffrent colors, and if u can afford it get a vex, i dont go without mine.
Pro Staff
IceFishOhio.com
Alum Creek, Buckeye lake guide

slabslayer

• You can never drill too many holes!
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
I agree, if you are targeting panfish, though, go with a 1 or 2 pound line.  Look at diameter, it is critical to get a small diameter line.  Try some gill pills or genz worms for the pans or crappies.  If you have the $ a good flasher is essential.  Love my Vexilar, but a friend has a Mar-cum and he loves his, they are a little less expensive than a Vex, but are still a quality product.  If you can upgrade to the zoom feature, they are worth the money, if you can afford it.
Inland Guide Service: Servicing NE Ohio lakes: Deer Creek, Atwood, Berlin, Dale Walborn, PLX, and Nimisila; for crappie, bluegill, saugeye, and walleye.

Team Wilcraft!

Pro Staff: IceFishOhio, JM Jigs, Eurotackle

Custom jigs available--pm for details

ratherbefishing

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile