Ice Fish Ohio Forum

What's the best way to sharpen auger blades

jmsteele187

• View Profile
Can anyone share some tips on sharpening auger blades, please?  I don't know if the type of auger makes a difference, but I have a strikemaster mora hand auger.

mitch131

• PRO STAFF
  • there always next year
    • View Profile
I never found a good way i just buy new ones i hearded people sharpen them but they dont last.
marcum
strikemaster
jammin jigs
artic armour

futurestrader

• View Profile
    • Byrneinvest
I have tried myself and taken them to local shops to no avail.  Just buy new ones or send them into strike master.
Pro Staff Member
Fishing for panfish
Walleye on Erie
www.byrneinvest.com

jmsteele187

• View Profile
Do you replace them every year, or how often should I replace them?

futurestrader

• View Profile
    • Byrneinvest
Gas auger blades I send into strikemaster and Mora blades for hand auger I just replace about every two years.  Trick is to keep them dry after drilling holes.
Pro Staff Member
Fishing for panfish
Walleye on Erie
www.byrneinvest.com

pig puncher

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
i had a guy at work sharpen some for me a couple years ago. they worked pretty good, but he has a machine shop in his garage.i think he used a surface grinder. fish 307 used to have an auger blade exchange deal where you ship them your dull blades and they sent you sharpened ones. maybe half price of new.
  the geometry of auger blades is critical, and you can get them razor sharp, but they won't cut ice. nothing worse than going out with a razor sharp dull auger on first ice. been there, done that.

jaybird62

• PRO STAFF
  • another great day
    • View Profile
had a guy at saw shop do some for me once. they cut good at first but didnt hold the edge too long.  i just by new when i need to.
be safe, it aint no fun if you dont live to lie about it
IFO prostaff
NAFC life member

Banker

• Global Moderator
  • With God, All things are possible. Matthew 19:26