Ice Fish Ohio Forum

Advice for eyes on erie

eyeassassin

• View Profile
So i am new to these post.  i have belonged to fishusa for awhile but i need some information on going for eyes through the ice on erie.  i am planning on hopefully (weather permitting) going up at the end of jan.  i am going to stay at the hotel in put in bay for 3 days.  so i have never fished the western basin through the ice, and i have no idea where to go to try and target some eyes.  I know i could just make my way to where i see the most ppl in a general area.  also is it possible to walk from the bay to any good fishing.  any information you can give i will be very thankful for.  I also know that there are guides but i really dont like to use other ppls stuff.  and with the price of the hotel for 3 days adding on a guide is something my old lady might not go for
good luck and be safe

ratherbefishing

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
You might ask my friend ohiofisher19... His name is Jonny Fickert and he and his farther fish the western basin more than anybody else I know. Another good resource is Carl Bachtle, he's Big Daddy on the site. Another NW Ohio angler with a good reputation.

Swedish Pimples are a mainstay in every Walleye anglers box, as well as Vib'e's and the new Lindy Darters are a good investment as well!

Good Luck!
Good Fishin'

Ryan Kerns

Ice Fish Ohio Pro Staff
Vexilar Pro Staff
Clam Pro Staff

Ask me about:
Ice Safety
Vexilar Flashers
Lake St. Clair
Canadian Fishing
C.J. Brown
Indian Lake
Jason Mitchell Rods/Ice Armor by Clam
Panfish
Walleye
Saugeye

OhioFisher19

• Global Moderator
  • More Fishin' Less Talkin'
    • View Profile
    • Ohio Outdoors
Yup it should freeze up good, make sure you keep your fingers crossed.
I've been seeing some nut cases go out already and the bay has had a few shanties on it.