Ice Fish Ohio Forum

skunked

rkfish · 8 · 4631

rkfish

• View Profile
Started at nimisila campground around 830 nothing for three hours. Then went to osp started slow hour later nothing. Jigin with waxie what am I doin wrong where are the fish

rkfish

• View Profile
Crazy.newbie here this is first post and I get 58 views and not one helpful hintful piece of advice

slabslayer

• You can never drill too many holes!
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
I know this is going to sound stupid, but sometimes Nimi can be like that. What size and color were your jigs, how deep was the water, and how far off the bottom were you fishing?  Sounds like you were there at a good time. Also, do you carry waxies and spikes, sometimes they'll hit one and not the other.
Inland Guide Service: Servicing NE Ohio lakes: Deer Creek, Atwood, Berlin, Dale Walborn, PLX, and Nimisila; for crappie, bluegill, saugeye, and walleye.

Team Wilcraft!

Pro Staff: IceFishOhio, JM Jigs, Eurotackle

Custom jigs available--pm for details

rkfish

• View Profile
I was in about 6ft of water about one foot off bottom color is orange on jig with waxxie. Just gettin into ice fishing wasnt sure if there were any basic secrets I didnt know. Not even sure what your referring to as a 'spike'...?

slabslayer

• You can never drill too many holes!
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Spikes, mouseies, and maggots all refer to the same bait. They were on orange there last week. Did you try different styles of jigs; some that hang vertical in the water and some that hang horizontal. Also change color and size frequently until you get into the fish. I've seen days where they won't touch green but will hammer purple. Also for gills use a very light line, 1 lb or so. Also don't be afraid to move around, I've been skunked, only to drill a hole 5' away and start killing them.