Ice Fish Ohio Forum

New member-novice ice guy

wetline1

• View Profile
Hi everyone. I'm a novice ice fisherman. I find it very intriguing, and I started purchasing some ice gear. I am looking at some electronics, but not sure where to start. I don't want to go 'all out' yet with the higher end contraptions, but I'm looking for a reliable piece of equipment that you might recommend for a starter. Any suggestions?

slabslayer

• You can never drill too many holes!
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
First of all, welcome!  As for a good reliable entry level unit, I'd recommend the Vexilar FL-8.  It's a great dependable unit that won't break the bank.  I know many guys that have had their FL-8 units for years and still use and love them.  It's one of the best flashers made.
Inland Guide Service: Servicing NE Ohio lakes: Deer Creek, Atwood, Berlin, Dale Walborn, PLX, and Nimisila; for crappie, bluegill, saugeye, and walleye.

Team Wilcraft!

Pro Staff: IceFishOhio, JM Jigs, Eurotackle

Custom jigs available--pm for details

Ntoiceman36

• Administrator
  • iceman cometh
    • View Profile
Welcome friend,you can find what it is you seek on this site.
DIRECTOR NE OHIO PAN FISH SERIES
PRO STAFF ICE FISH OHIO

futurestrader

• View Profile
    • Byrneinvest
I would go FL 8 to start and buy real good ice rods and jigs.  Put your money into those.  Look on caigslist for a used ice auger, cheap shanty, etc.
Pro Staff Member
Fishing for panfish
Walleye on Erie
www.byrneinvest.com

davidhoheisel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Great Lakes Largemouth Series
Welcome aboard,

You cant go wrong with a vex. I would also invest in a good pair of boots.

Make sure you always fish with a partner. We have a board where you can post to hook up with a ice fishing partner in your area.

You are always welcome to join us when we go out. We usually post when we go out as a group.

I hope this helps.
David Hoheisel

Pro Staff
IceFishOhio.com
Jason Mitchell Rods
Clam
Vexilar