Ice Fish Ohio Forum

Advice for ice fishing suite

bshock · 6 · 3429

bshock

• View Profile
Hi All,

I'm rather new to the sport, having only ice fished a few times last winter.  One of those was an ice fishing trip up in the Manistee area of Michigan, and we did pretty well for a few noobs, catching a few pike and bass.  I'm planning a week long trip to the same lake and want to buy a warmer outfit.  Last year it was just jeans with long underwear underneath.  Seeing as I don't ice fish too frequently, I don't want to spend a huge amount, and was thinking the Carhartt Arctic Extreme biberalls for about $130-ish. 

I've seen ice fishing specific gear with bibs at around $200, and matching jacket for about $200, and they float which would be nice, but that's a huge increase in price.  Does anyone else use Carthartt bibs and if so, do you like them?

I would also use these locally if Alum freezes up, but the real impetus for this is the weeklong trip to Michigan.  Last year I only had a couple days on the ice, this time I want 6 days from dusk til dawn.  ;D ;D ;D ;D

wannafish

• View Profile
i have never personally tried the carhartt arctic but my buddy wears them when we ride sleds and he never had any complaints riding all night...hope this was some help

buster

• View Profile
I have the artic extreme bibs and jacket and love them very warm, I'm sure the biberalls are just as good, I went with the bibs and jacket because I felt like I had more flexibility in the range of motion as well as being able to remove a little if I got to warm

Tight lines,
Ty

bshock

• View Profile
Thanks Wanna and Buster.  that's what I was hoping to hear.  As soon as they're available via Amazon, I'm gonna put in an order.  I wish I knew a place that sold them locally.  All I can find are the "regular" Carthartt biberalls.

davidhoheisel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Great Lakes Largemouth Series