Ice Fish Ohio Forum

Night Fishing???

hang_loose

• View Profile
I'm new to this ice fishing and this is probably a stupid question but does anyone ice fish at night?

Banker

• Global Moderator
  • With God, All things are possible. Matthew 19:26
    • View Profile
    • www.iceprofromohio.com
The question is not stupid the action of doing so would be deemed unsafe as there are a lot less people around to hear you if you fall in and limited visibility increases your chances of walking on thin ice. Haven't fished much past dark myself- and haven't seen others do it either.
Scott Albrecht
"Banker"
www.iceprofromohio.com

John 21:6 He said, "Throw your net on the right side of the boat and you will find some."

pig puncher

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
i've done quite a bit of ice fishing at night. some lakes the bite is better at night, especially for crappies. i haven't done much this year, because of the crappy ice though. if you know the ice is good, and you're familiar with the lake you're fishing, it's a lot of fun. i don't like to go alone, but i will if i have to. i try to get out before dark and fish spots i'm comfortable with, and i don't do much exploring at night.

davek

• Dave Brett Dan
    • View Profile
we do a lot of night fishing up here with a lot of success but our ice is a lot safer and we are very careful of where we go in and out if you go be careful sounds like ice in ohio is iffy in a lot of places Be Safe Dave

ratherbefishing

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Ice fishing at night is great for a lot of reasons, but you have to go about it the right way.

Go out (preferably with someone else) before it gets pitch black, this way you can still see, and on your way off you can back track. Set flags to help navigate if there isn't any snow and have a good lantern with an extra tank.