Ice Fish Ohio Forum

WTB ... Gas auger

Chilly willy

• View Profile
 :o.   Ok all I am new to ice fishing and found out at mosquito Sunday that a gas auger is almost as important as the rods !!! I did not have one and seen people using. Them and after getting 2 holes drilled by hand and I look over and the guy next to me has his drilled and is already fishing . So if anyone has one cheap enough like really cheap I am interested . If it needs some work that is fine. For I am mechanically inclined . Don't care what it looks like as it drills holes . You can PM me you post in this thread . Thanks all !!

wballard77

• PRO STAFF
  • Wes Ballard
    • View Profile
I have had this model for 3 years and love it when the ice is thick or on trips. If the ice is under 6" you still need a god hand auger.

http://www.sportsmansguide.com/net/cb/mako-43cc-quantum-ice-auger.aspx?a=707772

This model is a little cheaper
 http://www.sportsmansguide.com/net/cb/sting-ray-33cc-8-quantum.aspx?a=707771
Ice Fish Ohio Pro Staff

jaybird62

• PRO STAFF
  • another great day
    • View Profile
you know the reason we got such good ice is because i sold mine earlier this season.   you can thank me now
be safe, it aint no fun if you dont live to lie about it
IFO prostaff
NAFC life member

slabslayer

• You can never drill too many holes!
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
I have a Strikemaster and love it. Had it 4 seasons now. Worth every penny. But I have a hand auger too, but I will use the gas drill on anything over 3 1/2"-4". Between 2-4" I'll use the hand auger to reduce weight on the ice, but that's it. Trying to hand drill ice like we've got now is like trying to dig your basement with a pick and shovel, it can be done, but there's a much better option!  Gotta love new technology with the power auger options (gas, propane, or battery).