Ice Fish Ohio Forum

WHERE TO ICE FISH

welderhillbilly

• View Profile
HEY YALL

I AM NEW TO THE SITE AND I LIKE IT VERY MUCH. I LIVE IN THE SOUTHERN PORTION OF THE STATE EAST OF CINCINNATI AND WE USUALLY DONT HAVE MUCH SAFE ICE TO FISH AROUND HERE. I WAS WONDERING WHAT WOULD BE THE CLOSEST LAKE TO ME THAT I COULD FISH ON A REGULAR BASIS THAT USUALLY HAS SAFE ICE? I AM NEW TO THE ICE FISHING WORLD AND DEFINITLY WANT TO GET INTO IT. ANY INFO THAT ANYONE HAS WOULD BE GREAT .

THANKS

WELDERHILLBILLY

firefish532

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
The closest I could say would be Kiser or Indian but that is a 2 hour drive any other questions you can message me and I would be glad to take you out on Indian or Kiser
Firefish

Pro Staff
IceFishOhio.com

ratherbefishing

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
You have the option of going up 75 and hitting Kiser and Indian, or heading up 71 and trying your luck around central Ohio possibly Alum or Buckeye. Indian Lake is shallow and freezes pretty fast (usually.) Just keep up to date with the forums and see who might be going out, especially since you're stll kinda getting used to the sport. There is no safe ice, there are only safe iceanglers. We'll help you out all we can, but unless we get a really good cold snap, you're probably going to have to do a little driving.

Good Fishin'

RatherBe
Good Fishin'

Ryan Kerns

Ice Fish Ohio Pro Staff
Vexilar Pro Staff
Clam Pro Staff

Ask me about:
Ice Safety
Vexilar Flashers
Lake St. Clair
Canadian Fishing
C.J. Brown
Indian Lake
Jason Mitchell Rods/Ice Armor by Clam
Panfish
Walleye
Saugeye

welderhillbilly

• View Profile
THANKS YALL

I APPRECIATE THE INFO ON THE LAKES I WILL LOOK THEM UP . ALSO HAS ANYONE TRIED THE HUMMINGBIRD ICE-35. I WAS THINKING ABOUT ONE OF THOSE OR POSSIBLY THE VEXILAR FL-8. THE FEATURES LOOK SIMILAR. ANY OPINIONS WOULD BE GREAT.
THANKS

WELDERHILLBILLY

davek

• Dave Brett Dan
    • View Profile