Ice Fish Ohio Forum

Thinking of fishing this Saturday

bshock · 3 · 3004

bshock

• View Profile
Hi All,

I'm thinking of trying some ice fishing on Alum for the first time this year.  Does anyone know if the ice is safe?  I understand from previous posts that the ice at the State Marina bay has been fished already and I suspect is fine, but I haven't seen any posts recently.  And with those posts, I'm assuming that the gate is open to the State Marina dock area?

Anyway, this would just be my second time ice fishing Alum; a buddy and I tried last year but got skunked.

any tips?  I'm new to ice fishing, having really only had success pike/bass fishing with tip-ups up on a small lake in Michigan.  Is jigging the way to go for the crappie, walleye and bluegills on Alum?  I'm not looking for anyone's secret tricks, just hoping not to get skunked this time.  Any advice is appreciated!

crv423

• Global Moderator
  • Catching is only half the fun!
    • View Profile