Ice Fish Ohio Forum

VEXILAR FL-8 VS HUMMINGBIRD ICE-35

welderhillbilly

• View Profile
DOES ANYONE HAVE A PREFERENCE OF ONE OVER THE OTHER? IF SO WHY?  ALSO DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY APPLICATIONS FOR THEIR UNITS FOR SUMMER FISHING? ANY INFO WOULD BE GREAT. THANKS TO ALL THAT REPLY.

WELDERHILLBILLY

davidhoheisel

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Great Lakes Largemouth Series
I have a lot of knowledge of both units since i have always used Vexilar's and also was paid to Demo the Humminbirds units last year.

After using the Humminbirds last year I feel that the Vexilar's are better. I can see the marks on small jigs much better on the Vex's in Deep water. They seemed to disapear on the Humminbird's. The flat screen on the Humminbird is a nice feature but you can get that on the Vex in a fl12.

Customer service at Vexilar is hands down one of the best in the industry. They hold there value and if they start to fade in color over the years they can be reconditioned for around $50.

I hope this helps.

David
David Hoheisel

Pro Staff
IceFishOhio.com
Jason Mitchell Rods
Clam
Vexilar
GrandPa Bob's Crappie Jigs
Jammin Jigs

slabslayer

• You can never drill too many holes!
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
I agree on the Vex.  If you fish from a boat, you can use them in crappie fishing applications if you are vertical jigging.  Put your ice-ducer over the side, and use it as if on ice.  This will only work well in calmer water, choppy conditions can be tough sometimes.  But under the right conditions, this can be a great help in softwater crappie fishing, or any vertical fishing applications.
Inland Guide Service: Servicing NE Ohio lakes: Deer Creek, Atwood, Berlin, Dale Walborn, PLX, and Nimisila; for crappie, bluegill, saugeye, and walleye.

Team Wilcraft!

Pro Staff: IceFishOhio, JM Jigs, Eurotackle

Custom jigs available--pm for details

wapak ice dawg

• PRO STAFF
    • View Profile